Zoph 1.3 released

26 Apr 2024 by jeroen

This release marks a lot of cleanup and small improvements.I went through the list of warnings and remarks Sonarqube creates with every change I make in Zoph. I fixed everything that was fixable without rewriting lots of code, in total I fixed about 450 issues in this release. Since I already fixed the higher priority ones in an earlier release, these were mostly smaller issues such as naming conventions or failing to follow a best practice.

Furthermore, I also went through my 'todo' list, where I mark things I want to change at some point but can't do at that moment, ususally either because making that change doesn't fit in the release I'm working on, or because it depends on a future change in Zoph or a new feature in PHP that I don't want to use yet because of compatibility with older releases.

So, this release really is a large set of small changes, improving the overall quality of Zoph but nothing very visible for end users.

But, I did manage to squeeze in a few other changes, mostly to do with the names of people in Zoph. Zoph was never really good at handling people with names other than standard First Last name combinations, such as prefixes or suffixes or long full names that you don't really want to type every time you are importing a photo on the CLI. So, now you have a few extra fields to properly define those names as well as a couple of fields that you can use to define the full name and diplay name for those cases where Zoph's not able to determine that by itself. You can also now define a 'short' name that you can use when importing a person via the CLI.

Finally, Zoph has been able to use 'watermarks' on photos for quite some time, but only with GIFs as watermark, now you can also use PNGs!

Please report any issues you have via Gitlab issues, I will do my best to resolve them as soon as possible.

The full changelog can be found in the changelog. You can download Zoph from the Gitlab site.

Zoph Docker images are available from Docker Hub and Gitlab.